Port workers in India plan indefinite strike

May 22, 2018 - The National Coordination Committee of the six federations of Major Port workers has decided to call for a nationwide one-day token strike on May 28 and serve notice of an indefinite strike on or after May 30 at all the Major Ports against the lethargic and casual attitude of the management of the ports and the Ministry of Shipping in settling the demands of the federations submitted for revising the existing wage structure, service conditions, including pension benefits.

The efforts of the federations to seek the intervention of the MoS (Ministry of Shipping) to resolve the issues have been futile as no discussion has taken place with the Ministry even after repeated requests.

Major Ports in India

  • Kolkata Port 
  • Paradip Port 
  • New Mangalore Port 
  • Cochin Port 
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Port 
  • Mumbai Port
  • Kandla Port 
  • Vishakhapatnam Port 
  • Chennai Port 
  • Tuticorin Port 
  • Ennore Port 
  • Mormugao Port 
  • Port Blair Port


BDP International is closely working with all stakeholders to ensure the impact to our customers' supply chains are mitigated as much as possible. We will continue to keep you apprised of any updates as we receive them. In the meantime, please reach out to your local BDP representative with any questions or concerns.

Sources: American Journal of Transportation, BDP International